↑ Return to Who is Victoire ?

Victoire Ingabire Umuhoza Prize for Democracy and Peace

International Women’s Network for Democracy and Peace (RIFDP) in honor of Ms. Victoire Ingabire Umuhoza on March 8, 2011 in Montreal, Canada on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the International Women’s Day to honor the most distinguished individual in the search for democracy and peace during the past year.

The prize was presented for the first time on March 12, 2011. In selecting winners of the first edition, the jury composed of Juan Carrero, former candidate for the Nobel Peace, Mauro Sbolgi, founder and managing director of SIREAS ASBL, and Mary Roger Biloa, editor of Africa International, chose to distinguish Mr. Déogratias Mushayidi whose sentence for life imprisonment was recently affirmed by the Supreme Court of Rwanda but also the couple Martine and Christiaan De Beule.

The choice of Déogratias Mushayidi was justified because of his “Integrity and perseverance in his political struggle”. The jury estimated that Deo Mushyayidi was an example “for all prisoners of conscience, such as those who pay for their being the fact of daring to speak aloud what everyone thinks down.”